The Search for WondLA

The Search for WondLa (WondLa, #1)The Search for WondLa by Tony DiTerlizzi

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I never read Spiderwick by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi, but I just finished Search for WandLA by Tony DiTerlizzi. I loved every moment of reading this novel, what a sweet and exciting story, I wish I had a child to read it to.

Eva Nine is a 12 year old girl who was raised by her robot caretaker MUTHR in an underground sanctuary. She has all the neat futuristic kinds of stuff you can think of from other SF stories, thinking robots, hologram movies & learning, talking computers, Space Food. But when an attack from an unknown creature forces Eva to leave her sanctuary, she realizes that she’s not as prepared for what awaits her as she thought. A whole different, alien world awaits her.

This is more than just a simple “coming of age” story, of Evan Nine who is curious, adventuresome, and just coming into her thoughts of being her own person. It’s much more. It’s a story about a girl who is pure of heart, who has the spirit of someone who wants to become part of the world around her instead of someone who wants to manipulate the world into something that will suit her. She wants to connect with family and friends, no matter what form they come to her in.

Mr. DiTerlizzi certainly has a creative imagination, his illustrations are stunning and show every bit the detail you read from the text. Eva Nine’s world was painted with precision and every moment you believe the world she was born into. Each time I saw the drawings they brought me to many of my favorite stories such as Star Wars, The Dark Crystal, and Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind. I mean seriously, who else has thought of giant bugs that take over the earth (besides those scary, old, B science fiction movies from the 40s and 50s)? Because of my over whelming thoughts of Nausicaa while reading this book, I totally guessed certain aspects of how this story was going to end. But I wanted to go through Eva’s journey anyway because, like Eva, I wanted to know if she was the only human left on the planet. If she’s not, where are all the humans that are left? If she is the only one, what happened to the rest of the humans?

I’m going to have to pick up book #2 A Hero for WondLA in order to find out.

Leave a Reply

